

Staff Report

File #: 21-123A, Version: 1

Subject:

Appointment/reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

Recommended Action:

Sitting as the Emergency Medical Services Authority, approve the following appointment to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for a term ending in January 2023.

- Reappointment of Ms. Karen Mullins as Citizen Representative for Commission District 1.
- Reappointment of Mr. Jorge Mercado as Citizen Representative for Commission District 7.
- Appointment of Ms. Jo Dee Nicosia as primary representative for the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). Ms. Nicosia is the Director of Programs for NAMI. Ms. Nicosia is replacing Ms. Bousher who recently retired.
- Reappointment of Ms. Denise Whitfield as alternate representative for NAMI. Ms. Whitfield is the Executive Director for NAMI.
- Reappointment of Commissioner Julie Peluso as primary representative for Independent Fire Districts. Commissioner Peluso is a Fire Commissioner with the Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District.
- Reappointment of Commissioner Kevin Kenney as alternate representative for Independent Fire Districts. Commissioner Kenney is a Fire Commissioner with the East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District.

Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community.

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

- 5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach.
- 5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support.

Summary:

Ms. Mullins is volunteering to serve another two-year term representing Commission District 1 on the EMS Advisory Council.

Mr. Mercado is volunteering to serve another two-year term representing Commission District 7 on the EMS Advisory Council.

Ms. Jo Dee Nicosia is nominated by the National Alliance on Mental Illness to serve as their primary representative on the EMS Advisory Council. Ms. Nicosia is the Director of Programs for NAMI. Ms. Nicosia is replacing Ms. Bousher who recently retired.

Ms. Whitfield is nominated by the National Alliance on Mental Illness to serve as their alternate representative on the EMS Advisory Council. Ms. Whitfield is the Executive Director for NAMI.

Comm. Peluso has volunteered to serve another two-year term as primary representative for the Independent Fire Districts. Comm. Peluso is a Fire Commissioner for the Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District.

Comm. Kenney has volunteered to serve another two-year term as alternate representative for the Independent Fire Districts. Comm. Kenney is a Fire Commissioner for the East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District.

Background Information:

The Council was created by Chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, and is made up of 24 members that constitute a broad spectrum of county representation. It is the responsibility of Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) to fulfill the objectives outlined in the bylaws under Article II, Section 2.1. It is the responsibility of this council to evaluate the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view, to review the operation of EMS on a countywide basis, to recommend requirements and programs for the contract management firm and monitor performance of same, to review and evaluate studies commissioned by the authority upon the authority's request, and to make such recommendations as may be necessary to the authority on needs, problems and opportunities relating to emergency medical services, including the financing and establishment of a trauma center or centers, and to carry out such other duties as may be required to insure the delivery of good, countywide EMS at reasonable cost.

Twenty-four members appointed by the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners acting as the EMS Authority. Members constitute a broad spectrum of the County representation and shall include members of the emergency medical services system and four mayors to be appointed by the Pinellas County Council of Mayors. The term of appointment shall be for two years; however, there is no limit on the number of terms an individual may serve. The Director of Emergency Medical Services for Pinellas County shall be a non-voting member of the Council. The details of the selection process of the various appointed positions are included in the EMS Advisory Council bylaws, Section 3.1.

Fiscal Impact:

N/A

Staff Member Responsible:

James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

Partners:

EMS Advisory Council

Attachments:

EMS Advisory Council Roster Ms. Mullins's Resume Mr. Mercado's Resume NAMI Nomination Letter Ms. Nicosia's Resume Ms. Whitfield's Bio Comm. Peluso's Resume Comm. Kenney's Resume EMS Advisory Council Bylaws