

Pinellas County

Staff Report

File #: 20-1042A, Version: 1

Subject:

Appointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

Recommended Action:

Sitting as the Emergency Medical Services Authority, approve the following appointments/reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) for a term ending in August 2022.

- EMSAC evaluates the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view to recommend requirements and programs.
- EMSAC is made up of 24 members appointed by BCC acting as the EMS Authority constituting a broad spectrum of representation.
- Ms. Larri Gerson has volunteered to serve another two-year term representing Commission District 2.
- Mayor Woody Brown (Largo), Mayor Wanda Dudley (Kenneth City), Mayor Joseph Manzo (Belleair Beach) and Mayor Chris Alahouzos (Tarpon Springs) have been nominated by the Mayors' Council of Pinellas County to serve another two-year term as Mayors' Council representatives.
- Chief Ian Womack is nominated along with his alternate Chief David Kadau to represent the City of St. Petersburg Fire Chief.
- Dr. Eric Carver is nominated to serve a two-year term representing St. Petersburg College.
- Ms. Gayle Guidash and Ms. Ashley Hoskins are nominated to serve another two-year term representing the Pinellas County Health Department.
- Ms. Nancy Hopkins and Ms. Brenda McCarthy are nominated to serve another two-year term representing the Emergency Nurses' Association.
- Dr. Aron Schlau is nominated to be the primary representative for the Pinellas County Medical Association.
- Dr. Paul Anderson has been nominated to be the alternate representative for the Pinellas County Medical Association.

Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community.

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

- 5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach.
- 5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support.

Summary:

File #: 20-1042A, Version: 1

Ms. Larri Gerson has volunteered to serve another two-year term representing Commission District 2. Mayor Woody Brown (Largo), Mayor Wanda Dudley (Kenneth City), Mayor Joseph Manzo (Belleair Beach) and Mayor Chris Alahouzos (Tarpon Springs) have been nominated by the Mayors' Council of Pinellas County to serve another two-year term as Mayors' Council representatives.

Chief Ian Womack is nominated along with his alternate Chief David Kadau to represent the City of St. Petersburg Fire Chief.

Dr. Eric Carver is nominated to serve a two-year term representing St. Petersburg College.

Ms. Gayle Guidash and Ms. Ashley Hoskins are nominated to serve another two-year term representing the Pinellas County Health Department.

Ms. Nancy Hopkins and Ms. Brenda McCarthy are nominated to serve another two-year term representing the Emergency Nurses' Association.

Dr. Aron Schlau has been nominated to be the primary representative for the Pinellas County Medical Association.

Dr. Paul Anderson has been nominated to be the alternate representative for the Pinellas County Medical Association.

Background Information:

The Council was created by Chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, and is made up of 24 members that constitute a broad spectrum of county representation. It is the responsibility of Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) to fulfill the objectives outlined in the bylaws under Article II, Section 2.1. It is the responsibility of this council to evaluate the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view, to review the operation of EMS on a countywide basis, to recommend requirements and programs for the contract management firm and monitor performance of same, to review and evaluate studies commissioned by the authority upon the authority's request, and to make such recommendations as may be necessary to the authority on needs, problems and opportunities relating to emergency medical services, including the financing and establishment of a trauma center or centers, and to carry out such other duties as may be required to insure the delivery of good, countywide EMS at reasonable cost.

Twenty-four members appointed by the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners acting as the EMS Authority. Members constitute a broad spectrum of the County representation and shall include members of the emergency medical services system and four mayors to be appointed by the Pinellas County Council of Mayors. The term of appointment shall be for two years; however, there is no limit on the number of terms an individual may serve. The Director of Emergency Medical Services for Pinellas County shall be a non-voting member of the Council. The details of the selection process of the various appointed positions are included in the EMS Advisory Council bylaws, Section 3.1.

Fiscal Impact:

N/A

Staff Member Responsible:

James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

Partners:

EMS Advisory Council

Attachments:

EMS Advisory Council Roster

File #: 20-1042A, Version: 1

Ms. Gerson's Resume

Mayors' Council Nomination

Mayor Brown's Bio

Mayor Dudley's Resume

Mayor Manzo's Bio

Mayor Alahouzos's Bio

Chief Womack's Resume

Chief Kadau's Resume

St. Petersburg College Nomination

Dr. Carver's Curriculum Vitae

Ms. Guidash's Resume

Ms. Hoskins's Curriculum Vitae

Ms. Hopkins's Resume

Ms. McCarthy's Bio

Dr. Schlau's Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Anderson's Curriculum Vitae

EMS Advisory Council Bylaws