

Staff Report

File #: 19-602A, Version: 1

Subject:

Master Fire Protection Services Agreement with eight municipalities providing fire protection service in ten fire districts.

Recommended Action:

Sitting as the Pinellas County Fire Protection Authority, approve Fire Protection Services Agreements with the cities of Clearwater, Dunedin, Largo, Pinellas Park, Safety Harbor, Seminole, St. Petersburg and Tarpon Springs.

- Agreement with the cities of Clearwater, Dunedin, Largo, Pinellas Park, Safety Harbor, Seminole, St. Petersburg and Tarpon Springs to provide fire protection services within the unincorporated areas of their fire district(s).
- Operating and capital budgets for these agreements in FY20 total \$14,539,270.00.

Authorize the Chairman to sign and the Clerk of the Court to attest.

Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

- 5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach
- 5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support

Summary:

Chapter 62 of the Pinellas County Code authorizes the County to divide into fire protection districts (Districts) and to compel municipal departments to provide fire protection to the unincorporated areas within their respective Districts. This fire protection delivery system has been effective in most areas since the Legislative Special Act which created Chapter 62, was adopted in 1973.

Background Information:

The fire protection districts and associated agreements for Belleair Bluffs, Clearwater, Dunedin, Gandy, Highpoint (West), Largo, Pinellas Park, Safety Harbor, Seminole and Tarpon Springs include unincorporated areas that are contiguous with the boundaries of their respective contractor. Fire stations strategically placed ensure efficient response to the unincorporated areas as well as to the cities. The current design for fire protection in these ten fire districts allows for high quality service delivery to the unincorporated areas at a fair cost to the property owners.

Under separate but similar agreements the Highpoint (East) and South Pasadena MSTU's are

covered by St. Petersburg and Tierra Verde MSTU is covered by Lealman Special Fire Control District.

Fiscal Impact:

Ad valorem taxes collected from each of the District MSTU's support operating and capital expenditures for fire protection services. Operating and capital budgets for these agreements in FY20 total \$14,539,270.00.

Reimbursement for the unincorporated portion of capital improvement projects is made in accordance with the agreed capital plan and budget. Such improvements include Fire Stations, Fire Apparatus and other equipment. Cooperative plans are in place to coordinate these projects. Any changes to the capital plan, or amounts exceeding the capital budget, require separate Board action to authorize the change in the capital plan and appropriate funds from the designated district's Reserve for Future Years.

These amounts are consistent with the request included in the FY20 Proposed Budget for the Fire Districts fund and with the multi-year financial forecast for each district.

Staff Member Responsible:

James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

Partners:

City of Clearwater City of Dunedin City of Largo City of Pinellas Park City of Safety Harbor City of Seminole City of St. Petersburg City of Tarpon Springs

Attachments:

Fire Protection Services Agreement - Clearwater Fire Protection Services Agreement - Dunedin Fire Protection Services Agreement - Largo Fire Protection Services Agreement - Pinellas Park Fire Protection Services Agreement - Safety Harbor Fire Protection Services Agreement - Seminole Fire Protection Services Agreement - St. Petersburg Fire Protection Services Agreement - Tarpon Springs