

Staff Report

File #: 18-2102A, Version: 1

Subject:

Appointments/reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

Recommended Action:

As the Pinellas County Emergency Medical Services Authority, approve the following appointments/reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for two year terms ending January 2021:

- Appoint Ms. Rosalie Bousher as National Alliance on Mental Illness representative.
- Appoint Ms. Denise Whitfield as National Alliance on Mental Illness alternate representative.
- Reappoint Chief Ian Womack as St. Petersburg Fire Chief representative.
- Reappoint Capt. Eric Dinan as St. Petersburg Fire Chief alternate representative.
- Appoint Dr. Steven Epstein as Pinellas County Medical Association representative.
- Reappoint Ms. Anissa Raiford as Pinellas County Medical Association alternate representative.
- Reappoint Commissioner Julie Peluso as Independent Fire District Elected Official representative.
- Appoint Commissioner Kevin Kenney as Independent Fire District Elected Official alternate representative.

Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community.

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

- 5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach.
- 5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support.

Summary:

Ms. Bousher and Ms. Whitfield have been nominated by the National Alliance on Mental Illness to serve two-year terms as primary and alternate representatives.

Chief Womack and Capt. Dinan have been nominated by St. Petersburg Fire and Rescue to be reappointed for two-year terms as primary and alternate representatives.

The Pinellas County Medical Association has nominated Dr. Epstein to be appointed as primary representative and Ms. Raiford to be reappointed as alternate representative.

Commissioner Peluso and Commissioner Kenney have been nominated from amongst the

Independent Fire District Elected Officials to be their primary and alternate representatives.

Background Information:

The Council was created by Chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, and is made up of 24 members that constitute a broad spectrum of county representation. It is the responsibility of Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) to fulfill the objectives outlined in the bylaws under Article II, Section 2.1. It is the responsibility of this council to evaluate the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view, to review the operation of EMS on a countywide basis, to recommend requirements and programs for the contract management firm and monitor performance of same, to review and evaluate studies commissioned by the authority upon the authority's request, and to make such recommendations as may be necessary to the authority on needs, problems and opportunities relating to emergency medical services, including the financing and establishment of a trauma center or centers, and to

carry out such other duties as may be required to insure the delivery of good, countywide EMS at reasonable cost.

Twenty-four members appointed by the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners acting as the EMS Authority. Members constitute a broad spectrum of the County representation and shall include members of the emergency medical services system and four mayors to be appointed by the Pinellas County Council of Mayors. The term of appointment shall be for two years; however, there is no limit on the number of terms an individual may serve. The Director of Emergency Medical Services for Pinellas County shall be a non-voting member of the Council.

The details of the selection process of the various appointed positions are included in the EMS Advisory Council bylaws, Section 3.1.

Fiscal Impact:

N/A

Staff Member Responsible:

James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

Partners:

EMS Advisory Council

Attachments:

EMS Advisory Council Roster National Alliance on Mental Illness Nomination Ms. Bousher's Bio Ms. Whitfield's Bio Chief Womack's Resume Capt. Dinan's Bio Pinellas County Medical Association Nomination Dr. Epstein's Curriculum Vitae Ms. Raiford's Resume Comm. Peluso's Resume Comm. Kenney's Bio EMS Advisory Council Bylaws