

Staff Report

File #: 18-1700A, Version: 1

Subject:

Reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

Recommended Action:

As the Pinellas County Emergency Medical Services Authority, approve the following reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for two year terms ending November 2020:

- Reappoint Chief Scott Ehlers as City of Clearwater Fire Chief representative
- Reappoint Chief Anthony Tedesco as City of Clearwater Fire Chief alternate representative
- Reappoint Chief Terry Tokarz as Emergency Medical Services Coordinator representative
- Reappoint Chief Doug Zimmerman as Emergency Medical Services Coordinator alternate representative

Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community.

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

- 5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach.
- 5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support.

Summary:

Chief Ehlers and Chief Tedesco (alternate) are currently the appointed member and alternate representing the City of Clearwater. The City desires they continue to serve another two-year term on the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Advisory Council.

Chief Ehlers is the Fire Chief of Clearwater Fire & Rescue.

Chief Tedesco is the EMS Chief of Clearwater Fire & Rescue.

Chief Tokarz and Chief Zimmerman (alternate) have been nominated by the Pinellas County Fire Chiefs' Association to serve a two-year term on the EMS Advisory Council representing all system EMS Coordinators.

Background Information:

The Council was created by Chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, and is made up of 24 members that constitute a broad spectrum of county representation. It is the responsibility of Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) to fulfill the objectives outlined in the bylaws under Article II, Section 2.1. It is the responsibility of this council to evaluate the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view, to review the operation of EMS on a countywide basis, to recommend requirements and programs for the contract management firm and monitor performance of same, to review and evaluate studies

File #: 18-1700A, Version: 1

commissioned by the authority upon the authority's request, and to make such recommendations as may be necessary to the authority on needs, problems and opportunities relating to emergency medical services, including the financing and establishment of a trauma center or centers, and to carry out such other duties as may be required to insure the delivery of good, countywide EMS at reasonable cost.

Twenty-four members appointed by the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners acting as the EMS Authority. Members constitute a broad spectrum of the County representation and shall include members of the emergency medical services system and four mayors to be appointed by the Pinellas County Council of Mayors. The term of appointment shall be for two years; however, there is no limit on the number of terms an individual may serve. The Director of Emergency Medical Services for Pinellas County shall be a non-voting member of the Council.

The details of the selection process of the various appointed positions are included in the EMS Advisory Council bylaws, Section 3.1.

Fiscal Impact:

N/A

Staff Member Responsible:

James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

Partners:

EMS Advisory Council

Attachments:

EMS Advisory Council Roster Chief Ehlers's Resume Chief Tedesco's Resume Letter from Pinellas County Fire Chiefs' Association Chief Tokarz's Resume Chief Zimmerman's Biography EMS Advisory Council Bylaws