

Pinellas County

Staff Report

File #: 17-1936A, Version: 1

Subject:

Appointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

Recommended Action:

As the Pinellas County Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Authority, approve the following appointments/reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) for two -year terms:

- Reappointment of Dr. David Weiland Jr. as Pinellas County Medical Association representative
- Reappointment of Ms. Anissa Raiford as Pinellas County Medical Association alternate representative
- Reappointment of Dr. Kenneth Webster as Pinellas County Osteopathic Medical Society representative
- Appointment of Ms. Jeri Reed as Citizen Representative for Commission District 3
- Appointment of Mr. Dillard Jones as Citizen Representative for Commission District 4
- Appointment of Mr. Jason Dorr as Citizen Representative for Commission District 5
- Reappointment of Mr. William Holmes as Citizen Representative for Commission District 6

Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community.

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

- 5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach.
- 5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support.

Summary:

The Pinellas County Medical Association nominates Dr. David Weiland Jr. and Ms. Anissa Raiford to serve another two-year term ending December 2019.

The Pinellas County Osteopathic Medical Society nominates Dr. Kenneth Webster to serve another two-year term ending December 2019.

Four citizen representative vacancies representing Commission Districts 3, 4, 5 and 6 were properly advertised with an application period of November 1, 2017 through November 27, 2017. Fourteen applications were received by the Board of the County Commissioners and forwarded to the EMS Advisory Council Selection Committee for review. The Selection Committee recommendations were presented to the full EMS Advisory Council at their December 7, 2017 meeting.

The EMS Advisory Council nominates the following citizen representatives:

File #: 17-1936A, Version: 1

- Mr. William Holmes to serve another two-year term representing Commission District 6 and ending December 2019.
- Ms. Jeri Reed to serve a two-year term representing Commission District 3 and ending December 2019.
- Mr. Jason Dorr to serve a two-year term representing Commission District 5 and ending December 2019.
- Mr. Dillard Jones to serve a two-year term representing Commission District 4 and ending April 2020. Ms. Beth Rawlins who is the current District 4 representative will serve out the remainder of her term which ends in April 2018.

Background Information:

The Council was created by Chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, and is made up of 24 members that constitute a broad spectrum of county representation. It is the responsibility of EMSAC to fulfill the objectives outlined in the bylaws under Article II, Section 2.1.

Fiscal Impact:

N/A

Staff Member Responsible:

Jim Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

Partners:

EMS Advisory Council

Attachments:

EMS Advisory Council Roster

Pinellas County Medical Association Letter

Dr. Weiland's Curriculum Vitae

Ms. Raiford's Resume

Pinellas County Osteopathic Medical Society Letter

Dr. Webster's Resume

EMS Advisory Council Recommendation

Ms. Reed's Application and Resume

Mr. Jones's Application

Mr. Dorr's Application and Resume

EMSAC Selection Committee Packet

EMS Advisory Council Bylaws