

Pinellas County

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 22-2333A **Version**: 1

Type:AppointmentStatus:Regular AgendaFile created:12/21/2022In control:County Commission

On agenda: 1/17/2023 Final action:

Title: Appointment to the Tourist Development Council (Board of County Commissioners as a whole).

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. TDC Nomination Letter City Council Member Gerdes KTW 100522

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/17/2023	1	Board of County Commissioners	approved	Pass

Subject:

Appointment to the Tourist Development Council (Board of County Commissioners as a whole).

Recommended Action:

Approve one appointment to the Tourist Development Council.

- Appointment to fill the current term for the Elected Official City of St. Petersburg.
- Mayor Ken Welch has nominated City Council member Copley Gerdes to fulfill the remainder of the current term, expiring October 31, 2024. Memo attached.

Background Information:

The Tourist Development Council (TDC) is an advisory council composed of 12 members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners to make recommendations as to the effective use and expenditures of tourist development tax revenues.

The Commission Chair of the BCC or any other County Commissioner designated by the chair shall serve as the Chair of the Council. Four members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from the municipality in which the greatest percentage of tourist development tax revenue is generated in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from among the cities of Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, and Treasure Island, and one of whom shall be from a city in Pinellas County that is not specifically named in this section. Seven members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which not less than three nor more than four members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the bed tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of four years. All members of the TDC must be registered to vote in Pinellas County.

File #: 22-2333A, Version: 1

Attachments: Memo

<u>Partner(s):</u> Steve Hayes, CEO/President of Visit St. Pete-Clearwater