

Pinellas County

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-1815A **Version:** 1

Type: Appointment Status: Passed

File created: 9/18/2020 In control: Emergency Medical Services Authority

On agenda: 10/20/2020 Final action: 10/20/2020

Title: Reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. EMS Advisory Council Roster, 2. Scott Ehlers Resume, 3. Anthony Tedesco Resume, 4. Terry

Tokarz Resume, 5. Doug Zimmerman Bio, 6. EMSAC Bylaws - FINAL 5-9-17

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/20/2020	1	Board of County Commissioners	approved	Pass

Subject:

Reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

Recommended Action:

Sitting as the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Authority, approve the following reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) for a term ending in September 2022.

- EMSAC is made up of 24 members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners acting as the EMS Authority constituting a broad spectrum of representation
- EMSAC evaluates the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view to recommend requirements and programs.
- Chief Scott Ehlers is to be reappointed along with his alternate Chief Anthony Tedesco
 representing the City of Clearwater. Chief Ehlers is the Fire Chief of Clearwater Fire & Rescue
 and Chief Tedesco is the Division Chief of EMS.
- The Pinellas County Fire Chiefs' Association nominates Chief Terry Tokarz and Chief Doug Zimmerman for reappointment who represent EMS Coordinators. Chief Tokarz is the Division Chief of Professional Standards for Largo Fire Rescue and Chief Zimmerman is the Chief of EMS & Safety for Palm Harbor Fire Rescue.

Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community.

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

- 5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach.
- 5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support.

Summary:

File #: 20-1815A, Version: 1

Chief Scott Ehlers is nominated for reappointment along with his alternate Chief Anthony Tedesco to represent the City of Clearwater Fire Chief. Chief Ehlers is the Fire Chief of Clearwater Fire & Rescue and Chief Tedesco is the Division Chief of EMS.

The Pinellas County Fire Chiefs' Association nominates Chief Terry Tokarz and Chief Doug Zimmerman for reappointment to represent all system EMS Coordinators. Chief Tokarz is the Division Chief of Professional Standards for Largo Fire Rescue and Chief Zimmerman is the Chief of EMS & Safety for Palm Harbor Fire Rescue.

Background Information:

The Council was created by Chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, and is made up of 24 members that constitute a broad spectrum of county representation. It is the responsibility of Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) to fulfill the objectives outlined in the bylaws under Article II, Section 2.1. It is the responsibility of this council to evaluate the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view, to review the operation of EMS on a countywide basis, to recommend requirements and programs for the contract management firm and monitor performance of same, to review and evaluate studies commissioned by the authority upon the authority's request, and to make such recommendations as may be necessary to the authority on needs, problems and opportunities relating to emergency medical services, including the financing and establishment of a trauma center or centers, and to carry out such other duties as may be required to insure the delivery of good, countywide EMS at reasonable cost.

Twenty-four members appointed by the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners acting as the EMS Authority. Members constitute a broad spectrum of the County representation and shall include members of the emergency medical services system and four mayors to be appointed by the Pinellas County Council of Mayors. The term of appointment shall be for two years; however, there is no limit on the number of terms an individual may serve. The Director of Emergency Medical Services for Pinellas County shall be a non-voting member of the Council. The details of the selection process of the various appointed positions are included in the EMS Advisory Council bylaws, Section 3.1.

Fiscal Impact:

N/A

Staff Member Responsible:

James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

Partners:

EMS Advisory Council

Attachments:

EMS Advisory Council Roster

Ch. Ehlers's Resume

Ch. Tedesco's Resume

Ch. Tokarz's Resume

Ch. Zimmerman's Bio

EMS Advisory Council Bylaws