

Pinellas County

Staff Report

File #: 24-1146A, Version: 1

Subject:

Appointment of Mayors' Council of Pinellas County nominee to the Tourist Development Council (Board of County Commissioners as a whole).

Recommended Action:

Appoint one nominee to the Tourist Development Council to serve as the representative of the Pinellas County Mayors' Council.

- Appoint Mayor Dan Saracki, City of Oldsmar.
- Mayor Dan Saracki was nominated by the Mayors' Council of Pinellas County.
- No ballot needed/voice vote will suffice.

Background Information:

Makes recommendations to the BCC for the effective use of tourist development tax revenue; continuously reviews and reports on tax revenue expenditures.

The council is composed of 12 members who shall be appointed by the BCC. The chair of the BCC or any other County Commissioner designated by the chair shall serve as the chair of the council. Four members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from the municipality in which the greatest percentage of tourist development tax revenue is generated in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from among the cities of Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, and Treasure Island, and one of whom shall be from a city in Pinellas County that is not specifically named in this section.

Seven members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which not less than three nor more than four members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of four years.

Attachments:

Letter of nomination from Mayors' Council President Kenneth T. Welch Board Roster

Partner(s):

Brian Lowack, Executive Director, Tourist Development Council