

# **Pinellas County**

## Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #:** 20-528A **Version**: 1

Type: Appointment Status: Passed

File created: 3/18/2020 In control: County Commission

On agenda: 4/7/2020 Final action: 4/7/2020

Title: Appointment of the City of Clearwater's representative to the Tourist Development Council (Board of

County Commissioners as a whole).

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

**Attachments:** 1. TDC Roster\_4.7.2020.pdf, 2. FHibbard applic

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/7/2020	1	Board of County Commissioners	approved	Pass

#### Subject:

Appointment of the City of Clearwater's representative to the Tourist Development Council (Board of County Commissioners as a whole).

### Recommended Action:

Approve the appointment of the City of Clearwater's representative of Mayor Frank Hibbard to fulfill the existing term, vacated by the former Mayor George Cretekos. The term will expire October 31, 2020.

- The municipality with the greatest percentage of bed tax revenue generated in Pinellas County is in Clearwater.
- Frank Hibbard, as Mayor of the City of Clearwater.
- No ballots are necessary.

#### **Background Information:**

County Commission to formally appoint the City of Clearwater's Mayor, as the municipality where the most bed tax is generated.

This council shall, from time to time, make recommendations to the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners (BCC) for the effective operation of the special projects or uses of the tourist development tax revenue raised by the tax levied by this article and may perform such other duties or functions as may be prescribed by ordinance or resolution. The council shall continuously review all expenditures of revenue raised by the tax levied by this article, make expenditure reports (at least quarterly), and report to the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners all expenditures believed to be unauthorized under this article.

There is hereby established, pursuant to the provisions of F.S. § 125.0104, an advisory council to be known as the Pinellas County Tourist Development Council. Effective October 1, 2006, the council is composed of 12 members who shall be appointed by the BCC. The chair of the BCC or any other

File #: 20-528A, Version: 1

County Commissioner designated by the chair shall serve as the chair of the council. Four members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from the municipality in which the greatest percentage of tourist development tax revenue is generated in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from among the cities of Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, and Treasure Island, and one of whom shall be from a city in Pinellas County that is not specifically named in this section. Seven members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which not less than three nor more than four members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of four years.

#### **Attachments:**

Application Roster

#### Partner(s):

N/A