

Pinellas County

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-867A **Version**: 1

Type: Appointment Status: Passed

File created: 5/22/2019 In control: County Commission

On agenda: 6/18/2019 **Final action:** 6/18/2019

Title: Reappointment to the Greater Seminole Area Special Recreation District Board of Commissioners

(Board of County Commissioners as a whole).

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Greater Seminole Rec Board Roster REDACTED 5.22.19.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/18/2019	1	Board of County Commissioners	approved	Pass

Subject:

Reappointment to the Greater Seminole Area Special Recreation District Board of Commissioners (Board of County Commissioners as a whole).

Recommended Action:

Approve the reappointment of Mark Strickland to the Greater Seminole Area Special Recreation District Board of Commissioners to fill a current four year term that is set to expire on October 31, 2022.

Background Information:

The lands described in this section of the Pinellas County Code are created as a special recreational district, which is a public corporation. The district has the right, power and authority to acquire and hold title to real property and to levy ad valorem taxes (subject to referendum approval of the voters of the district). This district may enter into a management contract with associations or organizations whose programs are intended to serve the recreational needs of both adults and youths. The district is further authorized to expend district funds for the construction, care, maintenance, upkeep and operation of any recreational land and facilities as the board may determine to be in the best interest of the district. The board may adopt such rules and regulations as it may deem necessary in and about the transaction of its business and in carrying out the provisions of this article.

The business and affairs of this district shall be conducted and administered by a board of seven commissioners who shall serve for terms of four years each and shall be appointed as follows: five commissioners shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners of Pinellas County, two in 1988 and three in 1990 and every four years subsequent thereto, and two commissioners shall be appointed by the City Council of the City of Seminole, one in 1988 and one in 1990 and every four years subsequent thereto. Any commissioner may be appointed to succeed himself or herself. All commissioners shall be registered voters residing within the district and shall have resided within the district for at least a year prior to appointment.

File #: 19-867A, Version: 1

Attachments: Application

Board Roster

Partner(s):
Tim Schuler of Law Office of Timothy C. Schuler