

An Equal Bartow Office
Opportunity 170 Century Boulevard
Employer Bartow, Florida 33830-7700
(863) 534-1448 or

2379 Broad Street, Brooksville, Florida 34604-6899 (352) 796-7211 or 1-800-423-1476 (FL only) WaterMatters.org

Sarasota Office 6750 Fruitville Road Sarasota, Florida 34240-9711

(941) 377-3722 or 1-800-320-3503 (FL only) **Tampa Office**7601 U.S. 301 North (Fort King Highway)
Tampa, Florida 33637-6759
(813) 985-7481 or
1-800-836-0797 (FL only)

S

Mark Taylor

Chair, Hernando, Marion

Michelle Williamson Vice Chair, Hillsborough

Vice Chair, Hillsborough

Secretary, Charlotte, Sarasota

Kelly S. Rice

Treasurer, Citrus, Lake, Levy, Sumter

> Roger Germann Hillsborough

James G. Murphy Polk

Rebecca Smith

Hillsborough, Pinellas

Brian J. Armstrong, P.G. Executive Director October 10, 2019

1-800-492-7862 (FL only)

The Honorable Ron DeSantis Governor, State of Florida The Capitol 400 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-0001

Southwest Florida

Water Management District

Subject: Proposed 2020 Five-Year Water Resource Development Work Program

Dear Governor DeSantis:

Pursuant to subsection 373.536(6)(a)(4), Florida Statutes, each water management district is required to furnish a five-year water resource development work program within 30 days after the adoption of the final budget. The Southwest Florida Water Management District (District) approved its proposed 2020 Five-Year Water Resource Development Work Program at its Governing Board meeting held on September 24, 2019 and adopted its fiscal year 2019-2020 budget at a public hearing held on September 24, 2019.

After receiving comments from the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP), the District will respond to the evaluation within 45 days. Any revisions prompted by DEP's evaluation will be incorporated into the final report that will be included as part of the District's Consolidated Annual Report. The Consolidated Annual Report is due no later than March 1, 2020, pursuant to subsection 373.036(7), Florida Statutes.

Sincerely

Brian J. Armstrong, P.G.

**Executive Director** 

Enclosure

cc: Noah Valenstein, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection (w/enclosure)

Note: The District's proposed Five-Year Water Resource Development Work Program and referenced data has been published and is available on the District website at:

https://www.swfwmd.state.fl.us/resources/plans-reports/water-resource-development-work-program. Should any recipients of this letter require a hard copy of the draft report, please contact the District at 352-796-7211, ext. 4423; or email your request to: <a href="mailto:claire.stapley@watermatters.org">claire.stapley@watermatters.org</a>.

The Honorable Ron DeSantis, Governor

The Honorable Noah Valenstein, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection

The Honorable Bill Galvano, President, The Florida Senate

The Honorable Jose R. Oliva, Speaker, Florida House of Representatives

The Honorable Bill Montford, Senate Committee on Environment and Natural Resources

The Honorable Debbie Mayfield, Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government

The Honorable Rob Bradley, Senate Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable Holly Raschein, House Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee

The Honorable Charles Wesley Clemons, Sr., House Agriculture & Natural Resources Subcommittee

The Honorable W. Travis Cummings, House Appropriations Committee

Charlotte County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Ken Doherty

Citrus County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Jeff Kinnard

DeSoto County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Judy Schaefer.

Hardee County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Mike Thompson

Hernando County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Jeff Holcomb

Highlands County Board of Commissioners - Chair, James L. (Jim) Brooks

Hillsborough County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Lesley "Les" Miller, Jr.

Lake County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Leslie Campione

Levy County Board of Commissioners - Chair, John Meeks

Manatee County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Steven R. Jonsson

Marion County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Michelle Stone

Pasco County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Ron Oakley

Pinellas County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Karen Williams Seel

Polk County Board of Commissioners - Chair, George Lindsey, III

Sarasota County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Charles D. Hines

Sumter County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Don Burgess

Charlotte County Clerk of Court - Roger D. Eaton

Citrus County Clerk of Court - Angela Vick

DeSoto County Clerk of Court - Nadia Daughtrey

Hardee County Clerk of Court - Victoria L. Rogers

Hernando County Clerk of Court -Doug Chorvat

Highlands County Clerk of Court - Robert Germaine

Hillsborough County Clerk of Court - Pat Frank

Lake County Clerk of Court - Gary J. Coony

Levy County Clerk of Court - Danny J. Shipp

Manatee County Clerk of Court - Angelina M. Colonneso

Marion County Clerk of Court - David R. Ellspermann

Pasco County Clerk of Court - Nikki Alvarez-Sowles, Eaq.

Pinellas County Clerk of Court - Ken Burke, CPA

Polk County Clerk of Court - Stacy Butterfield, CPA

Sarasota County Clerk of Court - Karen E. Rushing

Sumter County Clerk of Court - Gloria R. Hayward

Brett Cyphers, Executive Director, Northwest Florida Water Management District Ernie Marks, Executive Director, South Florida Water Management District Dr. Ann Shortelle, Executive Director, St. Johns River Water Management District Hugh Thomas., Executive Director, Suwannee River Water Management District

Stephen M. James, Director, Office of Water Policy, Department of Environmental Protection Jack Furney, Deputy Director, Office of Water Policy, Department of Environmental Protection Jennifer Adams, Office of Water Policy, Department of Environmental Protection Kristine Morris, Department of Environmental Protection