

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council

June 24, 2019

Chairman Karen Williams Seel Vice-Chairman Pat Gerard Commissioner Dave Eggers Commissioner Charlie Justice Commissioner Janet C. Long Commissioner Kathleen Peters Commissioner Kenneth T. Welch

Board of County Commissioners 315 Court Street Clearwater, Florida 33756

Honorable Chairman and Members of the Board of County Commissioners,

I am writing this letter on behalf of the Pinellas County EMS Advisory Council in support of Data Driven Focus Group (DDFG) recommendations that were presented at our last meeting on June 21, 2019.

County staff provided a briefing on the background and mission of the Data Driven Focus Group as well as the DDFG's current recommendations for system improvement. Those improvements are as follows:

- Add three (3) Rescue Lieutenants to serve St. Petersburg (LR9), Largo (LR42) and Pinellas Park (LR35).
- Improve EMS Coordination for Seminole (Admin Lt.), Lealman (Admin Lt.), Palm Harbor (part-time EMS support), St. Pete Beach (EMS Coordinator), South Pasadena (part-time EMS Coordinator) and Oldsmar (part-time EMS Coordinator).
- Add a staff vehicle for Largo (LR42).
- Add a rescue unit for Palm Harbor Station 65. This will implement a transport capable Rescue Unit to cover the very busy Tampa Road / US 19 area of operations.
- Add Authority funding for the operation of Rescue 17 in Gulfport. The city will provide the actual Rescue Unit.
- Add Authority funding for the operation of Rescue 24 in Treasure Island. The city will provide the actual Rescue Unit.

There will be a proposed two-year implementation of these improvements with eleven (11) agencies receiving program enhancements.

This approach would fully fund all existing ALS units and services while ensuring no change in the EMS Tax Millage Rate and maintaining Reserves at greater than 25% throughout a six-year financial forecast.

After thorough review and consideration, the EMS Advisory Council unanimously supports these recommendations.

Please contact me at 727-341-3666 if you have any questions or request additional information from your EMS Advisory Council.

Respectfully,

Fric H. Carver

Dr. Eric Carver, Chair Pinellas County EMS Advisory Council

Mr. Barry A. Burton, County Administrator
Ms. Lourdes Benedict, Assistant County Administrator
Mr. James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services
Mr. Craig A. Hare, Director, EMS & Fire Administration