

An Equal Opportunity Employer

Southwest Florida Water Management District

2379 Broad Street, Brooksville, Florida 34604-6899 (352) 796-7211 or 1-800-423-1476 (FL only) WaterMatters.org

Bartow Office 170 Century Boulevard Bartow, Florida 33830-7700 (863) 534-1448 or

1-800-492-7862 (FL only)

Sarasota Office 6750 Fruitville Road Sarasota, Florida 34240-9711 (941) 377-3722 or 1-800-320-3503 (FL only) Tampa Office
7601 U.S. 301 North (Fort King Highway)
Tampa, Florida 36637-6759
(813) 985-748 Dr
1-800-836-0797 (FL only)

Randall S. Maggard Chair, Pasco

Jeffrey M. Adams Vice Chair, Pinellas

Bryan K. Beswick Secretary, DeSoto, Hardee, Highlands

> Ed Armstrong Treasurer, Pinelias

H. Paul Senft, Jr. Former Chair, Polk

Michael A. Babb Former Chair, Hillsborough

> John Henslick Manatee

James G. Murphy Polk

Kelly S. Rice Citrus, Lake, Levy, Sumter

Joel Schleicher Charlotte, Sarasota

Rebecca Smith Hillsborough, Pinellas

Mark Taylor Hernando, Marion

Michelle Williamson Hillsborough

Brian J. Armstrong, P.G. Executive Director October 2, 2017

The Honorable Rick Scott Governor, State of Florida The Capitol 400 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-0001

Subject: Proposed 2018 Five-Year Water Resource Development Work Program

Dear Governor Scott:

Pursuant to subsection 373.536(6)(a)(4), Florida Statutes, each water management district is required to furnish a five-year water resource development work program within 30 days after the adoption of the final budget. The Southwest Florida Water Management District (District) approved its proposed 2018 Five-Year Water Resource Development Work Program at its Governing Board meeting held on September 26, 2017 and adopted its fiscal year 2017-2018 budget at a public hearing held on September 30, 2017.

After receiving comments from the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP), the District will respond to the evaluation within 45 days. Any revisions prompted by DEP's evaluation will be incorporated into the final report that will be included as part of the District's Consolidated Annual Report. The Consolidated Annual Report is due no later than March 1, 2018, pursuant to subsection 373.036(7), Florida Statutes.

Sincerely,

Brian J. Armstrong, P.G.

Executive Director

Enclosure

cc: Noah Valenstein, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection (w/enclosure)

Distribution List (w/o enclosure)

Note: The District's draft Five-Year Water Resource Development Work Program has been published and is available on the District website at: <u>watermatters.org/WRDWP</u>. Should any recipients of this letter require a hard copy of the draft report, please contact the District at 352-796-7211, ext. 4871; or email your request to: john.ferguson@watermatters.org.

The Honorable Rick Scott, Governor

The Honorable Noah Valenstein, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection

The Honorable Joe Negron, President, The Florida Senate

The Honorable Richard Corcoran, Speaker, Florida House of Representatives

The Honorable Lauren Book, Senate Committee on Environmental Preservation and Conservation

The Honorable Rob Bradley, Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on the Environment

The Honorable Jack Latvala, Senate Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable Ben Albritton, House Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee

The Honorable Holly Raschein, Chair, House Natural Resources & Public Lands Subcommittee

The Honorable Carlos Trujillo, House Appropriations Committee

Charlotte County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Bill Truex Citrus County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Scott E. Carnahan DeSoto County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Elton Langford Hardee County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Colon Lambert Hernando County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Wayne Dukes Highlands County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Don Elwell Hillsborough County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Stacy White Lake County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Timothy I. Sullivan Levy County Board of Commissioners - Chair, John Meeks Manatee County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Betsy Benac Marion County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Carl Zalak, III Pasco County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Mike Moore Pinellas County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Janet C. Long Polk County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Melony M. Bell Sarasota County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Paul Caragiulo Sumter County Board of Commissioners - Chair, Doug Gilpin

Charlotte County Clerk of Court - Roger D. Eaton Citrus County Clerk of Court - Angela Vick DeSoto County Clerk of Court - Nadia K. Daughtrey Hardee County Clerk of Court - Victoria L. Rogers Hemando County Clerk of Court - Don Barbee, Jr. Highlands County Clerk of Court - Robert Germaine Hillsborough County Clerk of Court - Pat Frank Lake County Clerk of Court - Neil Kelly Levy County Clerk of Court - Danny J. Shipp Manatee County Clerk of Court - Angelina M. Colonneso Marion County Clerk of Court - David R. Ellspermann Pasco County Clerk of Court - Paula S. O'Neil, Ph.D. Pinellas County Clerk of Court - Ken Burke, CPA Polk County Clerk of Court - Stacy Butterfield, CPA Sarasota County Clerk of Court - Karen E. Rushing Sumter County Clerk of Court - Gloria R. Hayward

Brett Cyphers, Executive Director, Northwest Florida Water Management District Peter Antonacci, Executive Director, South Florida Water Management District Dr. Ann Shortelle, Executive Director, St. Johns River Water Management District Thomas Hugh., Executive Director, Suwannee River Water Management District

Stephen M. James, Director, Office of Water Policy, Department of Environmental Protection Jack Furney, Deputy Director, Office of Water Policy, Department of Environmental Protection Jennifer Adams, Office of Water Policy, Department of Environmental Protection