RESOLUTION 17-40

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS (BOARD) OF PINELLAS COUNTY, FLORIDA, EXPRESSING SUPPORT FOR THE DESIGNATION OF THAT PORTION OF U.S. 19A/S.R. 595 BETWEEN TARPON AVENUE AND THE PASCO COUNTY LINE AS OFFICER CHARLES "CHARLIE K" KONDEK, JR., MEMORIAL HIGHWAY.

WHEREAS, Officer Charles "Charlie K" Kondek, Jr. was a highly regarded and well-respected 17 year veteran of the Tarpon Springs Police Department; and

WHEREAS, Officer Kondek was killed by an armed felon in the line of duty on December 21, 2014; and

WHEREAS, the Board appreciates the brave service of law enforcement officers who work tirelessly to keep our community and county safe for our residents; and

WHEREAS, the Board recognizes that far too many law enforcement officers pay the ultimate sacrifice and are killed in the line of duty; and

WHEREAS, in an effort to memorialize and honor Office Kondek, Florida Representatives Chris Sprowls and Jim Boyd and the Florida Legislature successfully passed House Bill 1169 to designate a portion of U.S. 19A between Tarpon Avenue and the Pasco County Line as the "Officer Charles 'Charlie K' Kondek Jr., Memorial Highway"; and

WHEREAS, Section 334.071, Florida Statutes, requires a resolution of support from the County Commission before markers may be placed; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Pinellas County, Florida, at a duly-assembled meeting held on this <u>18th</u> day of <u>July</u> 2017, that it supports the designation of a portion of U.S. 19A between Tarpon Avenue and the Pasco County Line as the "Officer Charles 'Charlie K' Kondek Jr., Memorial Highway", and requests that the Florida Department of Transportation place and maintain appropriate markers designating said highway.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be made part of the minutes of the proceedings of this Board, and that a certified copy thereof be filed for record in the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court of Pinellas County, Florida.

Commissioner Eggers offered the foregoing Resolution and moved its adoption, which was seconded by Commissioner Justice , and upon roll call the vote was:

Ayes: Long, Welch, Eggers, Gerard, Justice, and Seel.

Nays: None.

Absent and not voting: Morroni.

APPROVED AS TO FORM

By: Churchy Donason Pomberte

Office of the County Attorney