TO: The Honorable Charlie Justice, Chair

Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners and

Tourist Development Council

FROM: Michael A. Zas, Managing Assistant County Attorney

SUBJECT: Tourist Development Council Vacancies

DISTRIBUTION: David Downing, Director, Convention & Visitors Bureau

Mark Woodard, County Administrator

DATE: September 20, 2016

The membership of the Tourist Development Council ("TDC") is governed by Section 118-34, Pinellas County Code, which provides:

There is hereby established, pursuant to the provisions of F.S. § 125.0104, an advisory council to be known as the Pinellas County Tourist Development Council. The council shall be composed of 12 members who shall be appointed by the board of county commissioners. The chair of the board of county commissioners or any other county commissioner designated by the chair shall serve as the chair of the council. Four members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from the municipality in which the greatest percentage of tourist development tax revenue is generated in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from among the cities of Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, and Treasure Island, and one of whom shall be from a city in Pinellas County that is not specifically named in this section. Seven members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which not less than three nor more than four members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the county and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of four years."

There are currently seven (7) vacant positions on the TDC. Two (2) of the vacancies are for appointees who are owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tax. Two (2) of the vacancies are for appointees who are involved in the tourism industry and are not owner or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations, and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development. Three (3) of the vacant positions are for appointees who are elected municipal officials.

A. The following applicants are electors of the County and appear to meet qualifications to serve on the TDC as an appointee from the owner or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations category:

1. Timothy Bogott CEO, TradeWinds Island Resorts (current council member)

2. Anthony Satterfield VP of Operations, Alden Suites (current council member)

B. The following applicants are electors of the County and appear to meet the qualifications to serve on the TDC as appointees from the tourism related industry category (not owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations):

1.	Jen Carlisle ¹	Director of Tourism, Clearwater Marine Aquarium; (current council member)
2.	Dennis DiTinno	CEO, Liberte Management Group of the Pinellas Islands
3.	Rui Farias	Executive Director, St. Petersburg Museum of History
4.	Oliver Kugler ²	Director of Sales/Marketing, Provident Hotels & Resorts, d/b/a Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
5.	Laura Lothridge	President, Tampa Bay Yacht Charter
6.	Doreen Moore ³	President, Travel Resort Services, Inc.
7.	Trisha Rodriguez ⁴	Owner, Clearwater Ferry/Tropics Boat Tours
8.	Roger F. Ross, Jr.	CFO, Interim CEO, Morean Arts Center
9.	Ryan Tarrant	Director of Sales, Marriott/Pinnacle Hotel Management
10.	Steve Westphal	Restauranteur; self-employed

_

¹ Jen Carlisle is employed by the Clearwater Marine Aquarium which has previously expressed its intent in seeking tourist development tax funding. Accordingly, as allowed by statute, the Board has previously waived this potential ethical conflict. As this is a new term appointment, I would advise the Board, if Ms. Carlisle is selected, to renew that conflict waiver.

² In his application, Mr. Kugler states that he serves on four (4) local chambers of commerce in different capacities, all of which have received tourist tax funding and may seek future funding. He is also a foundation board member of the Clearwater Jazz Holiday. It appears that all or some of the above present waivable ethical conflicts under the Statute. Thus, if Mr. Kugler is selected, I would advise the Board to waive any ethical conflict.

³ In her application, Doreen Moore is on the Board of Directors for Creative Pinellas. Creative Pinellas currently receives tourist development tax funding. Per Statute, this results in a waivable ethical conflict. Thus, if Ms. Moore is selected, I would advise the Board to waive the ethical conflict.

⁴ In her application, Ms. Rodriguez states she is the current treasurer of the Clearwater Beach Chamber. The Chamber has previously received tourist development tax funding and may seek funding in the future. Per Statute, this results in a waivable ethical conflict. Thus, if Ms. Rodriguez is selected, I would advise the Board to waive the ethical conflict.

C. There are also currently three vacant positions for appointees who are municipal officials. Accordingly, the Board can reappoint the following municipal officials whose appointment would comply with the requirements of the Special Act:

1.	Councilman Charlie Gerdes	(current council member)
2.	Mayor George Cretekos	(current council member)
3.	Mayor Travis Palladeno	(current council member)