TO:	The Honorable Janet Long, Chair Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners and Tourist Development Council
FROM:	Michael A. Zas, Managing Assistant County Attorney
SUBJECT:	Revised Memo - Tourist Development Council Vacancies
DISTRIBUTION:	Brian Lowack, Interim Director, Convention & Visitors Bureau Barry A Burton, County Administrator
DATE:	July 3, 2023

The membership of the Tourist Development Council ("TDC") is governed by Section 118-34, Pinellas County Code, which provides:

There is hereby established, pursuant to the provisions of F.S. § 125.0104, an "(a) advisory council to be known as the Pinellas County Tourist Development Council. The council shall be composed of 12 members who shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The chair of the Board of County Commissioners or any other County Commissioner designated by the chair shall serve as the chair of the council. Four members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from the municipality in which the greatest percentage of tourist development tax revenue is generated in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from among the cities of Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, and Treasure Island, and one of whom shall be from a city in Pinellas County that is not specifically named in this section. Seven members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which not less than three nor more than four members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the county and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of four years."

There is currently one (1) vacant position on the TDC. This vacancy can be filled from the elected official category.

## TDC APPLICANTS:

## I. Elected Municipal Official (Big C nominees)

There is currently one (1) open elected municipal official TDC appointment to be made by the BCC. In accordance with Florida law, the BCC shall appoint an elected official from among the cities specifically enumerated in the act as set forth above. Moreover, per BCC 2016 policy directive, any such appointment shall be made by the BCC from among *one* of the names of elected municipal officials submitted by the Barrier Islands Governmental Council (Big C) as follows:

- 1. Mayor Dave Gattis, Belleair Beach
- 2. Mayor Robert Schmidt Jr, Belleair Shore \*
- 3. Mayor Tyler Payne, Treasure Island

\* As of this revised memo, Mayor Schmidt, Jr. has submitted his application and eligibility has been verified.