TO:	The Honorable Brian Scott, Chair Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners and Tourist Development Council
FROM:	Amanda Coffey, Managing Assistant County Attorney
SUBJECT:	Tourist Development Council Vacancies
DISTRIBUTION:	Brian Lowack, President & CEO, Convention & Visitors Bureau Barry A Burton, County Administrator
DATE:	May 28, 2025

The membership of the Tourist Development Council (TDC) is governed by Fla. Stat. § 125.0104 and Section 118-34, Pinellas County Code, which provides:

There is hereby established, pursuant to the provisions of F.S. § 125.0104, an (a) advisory council to be known as the Pinellas County Tourist Development Council. The council shall be composed of 12 members who shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The chair of the Board of County Commissioners or any other County Commissioner designated by the chair shall serve as the chair of the council. Four members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from the municipality in which the greatest percentage of tourist development tax revenue is generated in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from among the cities of Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, and Treasure Island, and one of whom shall be from a city in Pinellas County that is not specifically named in this section. Seven members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which not less than three nor more than four members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the county and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of four years.

The TDC bylaws further clarify that when appointments are made mid-term to fill a vacancy, the new member appointment runs for a new four-year term. A chart indicating the requirements for each TDC position is included at the end of this memo.

There are currently two (2) positions on the TDC that must be reappointed:

1. One (1) for a non-elected official position, with a term expiring on June 22, 2025. The approaching vacancy must be filled with one appointee who is the owner or operator of a tourist accommodation (Hotel/Motel category) for a four-year term. This position is currently held by **Clyde Smith** (Hotel/Motel category, 1st term).

2. One (1) for an elected municipal official from Belleair, Belleair Bluffs, Dunedin, Gulfport, Kenneth City, Largo, Oldsmar, Pinellas Park, Safety Harbor, Seminole, South Pasadena, or Tarpon Springs, which position was vacated due to the results of the March 2025 municipal election. This position is traditionally someone who is nominated by the Mayor's Council.

TDC APPLICANTS:

I. Accommodations Owner/Operator Category

A. The BCC must vote for one individual in this category. The following applicant(s) are electors of the County and have applied under the owner or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations category and appear to otherwise meet the legal eligibility requirements¹:

1.	Clyde Smith (incumbent)	General Manager, Association Manager
		Bilmar Beach Resort
2.	Jeff S. Castner	General Manager, Opal Sol & Opal Sands Hotels
3.	M. Seth S. McDaniels	General Manager, Davidson Hospitality
		Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach

Details about each applicant's qualifications and involvement in the tourism industry are outlined in their applications.

II. Elected Official Category (Mayor's Council)

- A. This position is traditionally the Mayor's Council nominee, and must be an elected official be from Belleair, Belleair Bluffs, Dunedin, Gulfport, Kenneth City, Largo, Oldsmar, Pinellas Park, Safety Harbor, Seminole, South Pasadena, or Tarpon Springs. The BCC must vote for one individual in this category. The Mayor's Council nominated the following elected official, who does appear to meet the legal eligibility requirements:
 - 4. Katie Gannon Mayor, Oldsmar

III. Non-Qualifying Applicants (for the current vacancy)

A. The following applicants do not qualify as the owner or operator of an eligible tourist accommodations, and are therefore not eligible for the position that is currently open:

5.	George Hudak	President DigiWorks Media Group, Inc. / Media Consultant	
6.	Alexander J. Versen	Consultant, Nova Innovation Group /	
		Sports & Entertainment Development	
7.	Pete M. Boland	Executive, TB Concepts, LLC / Bar & Restaurant owner	
		& festival promoter	
8.	Kristin K. Ingram	Real Estate Advisor, Turn Key Realty / Consultant for a	
		short-term rental business & marketing for charter boats	
9.	Ekaterina Blackwelder	Project Administrator, Heidrick & Struggles / Executive	
		Search & Consulting	

¹ Note that we have requested the Supervisor of Elections confirm the applicants are electors of the County; if the Supervisor determines they are not, a revised memo and updated ballot will be provided.

Pinellas County Tourist Development Council (TDC) Membership

	Requirement	2025 Member
1	Chair of the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners (BCC) [or, another member of the BCC appointed by the Chair]	Brian Scott, BCC Chair
2	Elected Municipal Officer - Most populous municipality [currently, St. Petersburg]	Copley Gerdes, St. Petersburg City Council Member
3	Elected Municipal Officer – Municipality with the greatest tourism revenue [currently, Clearwater]	Bruce Rector, Mayor of Clearwater
4	Elected Municipal Official ("Big C" Nominee) [Must be from Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, or Treasure Island]	Dave Gattis, Mayor of Belleair Beach
5	Elected Municipal Official (Mayor's Council nominee) [Must be from Belleair, Belleair Bluffs, Dunedin, Gulfport, Kenneth City, Largo, Oldsmar, Pinellas Park, Safety Harbor, Seminole, South Pasadena, Tarpon Springs]	Vacant
6	Hotel/Motel/Accommodations Owner/Operator	Russ Kimball
7	Hotel/Motel/Accommodations Owner/Operator	Charles Prather
8	Hotel/Motel/Accommodations Owner/Operator	Clyde Smith
9	Tourism-Industry <u>OR</u> Hotel/Motel/Accommodations Owner/Operator	James Dylan Hubbard [tourism- industry]
10	Tourism Industry (not an accommodations owner/operator)	Phil Henderson
11	Tourism Industry (not an accommodations owner/operator)	Patricia Rodriguez
12	Tourism Industry (not an accommodations owner/operator)	Doreen L. Moore
13	Non-Voting ex-officio member: Vice-Chair of the BCC. [If the Vice-Chair is nominated by the BCC Chair to serve as the TDC Chair, then this position remains vacant.]	Dave Eggers, BCC Vice-Chair

Fla. Stat. § 125.0104 & Pinellas County Code § 118-34 (2025)

• Appointments Run Nov. 1 to Oct. 31 for each 4-year term. When an appointment is made mid-term to fill a vacancy, the new member appointment runs for a new 4-year term.

- The BCC representative on the TDC serves as the TDC Chair; the vice-chair is elected by the TDC.
- Current TDC Membership and details are online at: https://pinellas.granicus.com/boards/w/3178b62d4a386a9d/boards/7673.