TO:	The Honorable Charlie Justice, Chair Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners and Tourist Development Council	
FROM:	Michael A. Zas, Managing Assistant County Attorney	
SUBJECT:	Tourist Development Council Vacancies	
DISTRIBUTION:	Steve Hayes, Director, Convention & Visitors Bureau Barry A Burton, County Administrator	
DATE:	October 7, 2022	

The membership of the Tourist Development Council ("TDC") is governed by Section 118-34, Pinellas County Code, which provides:

"(a) There is hereby established, pursuant to the provisions of F.S. § 125.0104, an advisory council to be known as the Pinellas County Tourist Development Council. The council shall be composed of 12 members who shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The chair of the Board of County Commissioners or any other County Commissioner designated by the chair shall serve as the chair of the council. Four members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from the municipality in which the greatest percentage of tourist development tax revenue is generated in Pinellas County, one of whom shall be from among the cities of Belleair Beach, Belleair Shores, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, and Treasure Island, and one of whom shall be from a city in Pinellas County that is not specifically named in this section. Seven members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which not less than three nor more than four members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the county and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of four years."

There are currently four (4) vacant positions on the TDC. These vacancies can be filled as follows: one (1) must be from the elected official category; one (1) or none from the hotel/motel category and if none from the hotel/motel category, then you may vote for up to three (3) from the tourist industry category. However, if you do vote for Mr. Kimball from the hotel/motel category, then, you can only vote for up to two (2) from the tourist industry category.

TDC APPLICANTS:

- I. Elected Municipal Official (Mayor's Council nominees)
- A. There is currently a vacant position for an elected municipal official from one of the cities not specifically listed in the Special Act (non-beaches). The appointment of either municipal elected official below as nominated by the Mayor's Council would comply with the requirements of the Special Act:
 - 1. Mayor Costa Vatikiotis Dunedin
 - 2. Mayor Julie Ward-Bujalski Tarpon Springs
- II. Hotel/Motel Category
 - B. The following applicant is an elector of the County and has applied under the owner or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations category and appear to otherwise meet the Special Act eligibility requirements:
 - 1. Russ Kimball CEO, Sheraton Sand Key Resort
- III. Tourist Industry Category
 - C. The following applicants are electors of the County and have applied under the tourist industry category (not owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations) and (except as noted below) appear to meet the Special Act eligibility requirements:

1.	Phil Henderson	CEO, StarLite Cruises, Inc.
2.	Doreen Moore	Owner, Travel Resort Services, Inc.
3.	Stephanie Love *	CEO, Epicurious One, LLC

* In her application, Stephanie Love applied under the tourist industry category. However, she lists her occupation as a wine educator which does not appear to qualify under the tourist industry category. Thus, she does not appear eligible for consideration. Consequently, the BCC would have to first determine that she does qualify under the tourist industry category and is eligible to serve as a TDC appointee before voting for her.