Pinellas County Florida Banner
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 18-1879A    Version: 1
Type: Appointment Status: Passed
File created: 11/8/2018 Department: County Commission
On agenda: 12/11/2018 Final action: 12/11/2018
Title: Reappointments to the Historic Preservation Board (Commissioners Seel, Long, Welch, and Justice).
Attachments: 1. Historic Preservation Board Roster 11.28.18



Reappointments to the Historic Preservation Board (Commissioners Seel, Long, Welch, and Justice).



Recommended Action:

recommended action

Approve the individual commissioner’s reappointments to the Historic Preservation Board as follows:

Waldemar Clark (Commissioner Seel)

Gina Clayton (Commissioner Long)

John P. Barie (Commissioner Welch)

Jim Parent (Commissioner Justice)


The term of these appointees is for three years and set to expire on December 31, 2021. 



Background Information:

The Historic Preservation Board reviews and makes final decisions on Certificate of Appropriateness applications for designated properties in a historic district, landmarks and landmark sites; recommends the designation of historic districts, individual landmarks, and landmark sites to the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners (BCC); nominating and reviewing historic resources for listing on the National Register; and working on a variety of other matters pertaining to historic preservation in Pinellas County. The Historic Preservation Board is composed of nine members, with two alternates. Each member of the BCC nominates one member of the Historic Preservation Board, and the BCC jointly nominates two at-large members and two alternates, with the BCC appointing the entire nine members and two alternates. The BCC also appoints one of its members to the Historic Preservation Board to serve as its chairman and an ex-officio, non-voting member. The Historic Preservation Board must be composed of community advocates, municipal representatives, and historic preservation professionals with expertise and/or knowledge in the historic preservation field. The term of appointment of each member is three years.



Board Roster