

Staff Report

File #: 22-1064A, Version: 1

## <u>Subject:</u>

Reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council.

## Recommended Action:

Sitting as the Emergency Medical Services Authority, approve the following appointments/reappointments to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for a term ending in July 2024.

- Reappointment of Ms. Larri Gerson as a Citizen Representative.
- Reappointment of Ch. Scott Ehlers as the City of Clearwater Fire Chief representative. Ch. Ehlers is the Fire Chief for Clearwater Fire & Rescue.
- Reappointment of Ch. Anthony Tedesco as the City of Clearwater Fire Chief alternate representative. Ch. Tedesco is the Division Chief of EMS for Clearwater Fire & Rescue.
- Reappointment of Ch. Terry Tokarz as the EMS Coordinator representative. Ch. Tokarz is the Division Chief of Professional Standards for Largo Fire Rescue.
- Reappointment of Ch. Doug Zimmerman as the EMS Coordinator alternate representative. Ch. Zimmerman is the Chief of EMS for Palm Harbor Fire Rescue.
- Reappointment of Dr. Eric Carver as the St. Petersburg College President's representative. Dr. Carver is the Provost for St. Petersburg College.
- Reappointment of Ms. Nancy Hopkins as the Emergency Nurses' Association representative. Ms. Hopkins is the Director of Patient Services for Mease Dunedin Hospital.

## Strategic Plan:

Ensure Public Health, Safety, and Welfare

2.1 Provide planning, coordination, prevention, and protective services to ensure a safe and secure community.

Deliver First Class Services to the Public and Our Customers

5.1 Maximize partner relationships and public outreach.

5.3 Ensure effective and efficient delivery of county services and support.

## Summary:

The following are routine reappointments to the EMS Advisory Council:

- Reappointment of Ms. Larri Gerson as a Citizen Representative.
- Reappointment of Ch. Scott Ehlers as the City of Clearwater Fire Chief representative. Ch. Ehlers
- is the Fire Chief for Clearwater Fire & Rescue.
- Reappointment of Ch. Anthony Tedesco as the City of Clearwater Fire Chief alternate representative. Ch. Tedesco is the Division Chief of EMS for Clearwater Fire & Rescue.
- Reappointment of Ch. Terry Tokarz as the EMS Coordinator representative. Ch. Tokarz is the

Division Chief of Professional Standards for Largo Fire Rescue.

- Reappointment of Ch. Doug Zimmerman as the EMS Coordinator alternate representative. Ch. Zimmerman is the Chief of EMS for Palm Harbor Fire Rescue.

- Reappointment of Dr. Eric Carver as the St. Petersburg College President's representative. Dr. Carver is the Provost for St. Petersburg College.

- Reappointment of Ms. Nancy Hopkins as the Emergency Nurses' Association representative. Ms. Hopkins is the Director of Patient Services for Mease Dunedin Hospital.

# **Background Information:**

The Council was created by Chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, and is made up of 24 members that constitute a broad spectrum of county representation. It is the responsibility of Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) to fulfill the objectives outlined in the bylaws under Article II, Section 2.1. It is the responsibility of this council to evaluate the County's emergency medical services system from a qualitative point of view, to review the operation of EMS on a countywide basis, to recommend requirements and programs for the contract management firm and monitor performance of same, to review and evaluate studies commissioned by the authority upon the authority's request, and to make such recommendations as may be necessary to the authority on needs, problems and opportunities relating to emergency medical services, including the financing and establishment of a trauma center or centers, and to carry out such other duties as may be required to insure the delivery of good, countywide EMS at reasonable cost.

Twenty-four members appointed by the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners acting as the EMS Authority. Members constitute a broad spectrum of the County representation and shall include members of the emergency medical services system and four mayors to be appointed by the Pinellas County Council of Mayors. The term of appointment shall be for two years; however, there is no limit on the number of terms an individual may serve. The Director of Emergency Medical Services for Pinellas County shall be a non-voting member of the Council. The details of the selection process of the various appointed positions are included in the EMS Advisory Council bylaws, Section 3.1.

## Fiscal Impact:

N/A

## Staff Member Responsible:

James G. Fogarty, Director, Safety and Emergency Services

## Partners:

EMS Advisory Council

## Attachments:

EMS Advisory Council Roster Ms. Gerson's Resume Ch. Ehlers's Resume Ch. Tedesco's Resume Ch. Tokarz's Resume Ch. Zimmerman's Bio Ms. Hopkins's Resume EMS Advisory Council Bylaws